OpenMRS – open source project for medical record software

A couple people have asked what I have been doing lately.  Fortunately I have been putting my talents for good rather than evil (even though evil is so tempting, and they have cookies).

I am becoming familiar (and hopefully soon being useful) on the open source electronic medical record (EMR) software “OpenMRS” (openmrs.org).  This project combines my interests in EMR software (and data models) with my desire to make a real contribution for efficient and effective delivery of healthcare.  Just in Kenya this software is used in over 50 clinics supporting hundreds of thousands of patients.  

Fortunately this system is using tools I am familiar with – code is Java, GIT for version control, and JIRA for issues and scrum.  I am still getting familiar with the codebase and will soon have the confidence to take an issue from JIRA or even propose some new functionality (like a remote ‘visiting nurse’ tablet application).

