Odd Phone Hiccup – Lost Data Connectivity on 3G/4G/LTE

Just had an oddity on my Galaxy S3 phone – I had no data connectivity over the air!
I tried the typical restart and disable/enable Airplane mode with no avail.

How I fixed it (some steps may be optional/redundant – I don’t know):

  1. Update PRL – Settings -> More -> System Update -> Update PRL
  2. disable WiFi
  3. disable phone data – Settings -> Connection -> Data Usage -> Mobile Data
  4. enter Airplane mode
    (in other words – shut off everything)
  5. power cycle the device to force a full reboot
  6. come out of Airplane mode
  7. re-enable phone data

Whew – see the 4G/LTE icon…

I left WiFi disabled because there were some comments that WiFi coming in and going out may have a bug in the new Android (I’m using KitKat 4.4.2).

